WipeDrive can clear the Trusted Platform Module, better known as TPM. This can be unverified or verified clear. Last one will need a reboot. 


What is the TPM? 

Trusted Platform Module technology is designed to provide hardware-based, security-related functions. A TPM chip is a secure crypto-processor that is designed to carry out cryptographic operations. (see source for more information)


To make this work at least version 9.3.3 must be used. In the config file it's under: tpm-action=

3 options are possible:

1) none - do nothing (default)

2) unverified-clear - clear the tpm but don't force reboot if reboot is needed to clear

3) verified-clear - if a reboot is required to clear tpm reboot the machine before beginning the wipe so the success of the clear can be verified.


So it could be: tpm-action=verified-clear



In the GUI you can find this on the first tab, left bottom of the screen. 



Caution: If 'ownership' of the TPM  has been taken a reboot might be required to clear it.

Further it is possible on reboot that the user will be prompted whether it is OK to clear the TPM or not.  This means it is possible for WipeDrive to tell the machine to clear its TPM on reboot but a user/tech to select that a machine NOT clear its TPM  when prompted via BIOS. This is the reason for the verified and unverified methods.



Source: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/information-protection/tpm/trusted-platform-module-overview



If you need more information, please contact us via one of below options. 


  |   Email us    |   Submit a ticket   |   Give us a call   |

 

Our official support hours are 8:00 am to 16:30 pm, after those hours emailing us or submitting a ticket would be the best option.